Begin Main Content Area

The 368th Meeting of The State Board of Education

May 4, 2022


Meeting Location: 333 Market St., Harrisburg, PA 17126

Meeting will be livestreamed for public viewing at:
Zoom Meeting:
Passcode: 939650, Telephone: 929-205-6099 (Toll Free), Meeting ID: 935 8928 9908

Wednesday, May 4, 2022: 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. – Working Session Honors Suite, 1st Floor

I. Council of Higher Education & Master Plan for Higher Education Advisory Committee

Call to Order, Karen Farmer White

Opening Remarks

Approval of the Minutes: March 16, 2022 meeting

Presentation: Innovating and Redesigning Postsecondary Institutions for Today's Learners: Dr. Tanya I. Garcia, PDE

Panel Discussions:

  • Panel 1: Pennsylvania Institutions of Higher Education
    • Moderator: Dr. Geleana Alston, Associate Professor, North Carolina A&T State University
    • Panelists: 
      • Dr. Michelle Filling-Brown, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, Cabrini University
      • Dr. Christopher Gray, President, Erie County Community College 
      • Dr. Nicole Hurd, President, Lafayette College
      • Dr. Jodi Levine Laufgraben, Vice Provost Academic Affairs, Assessment and Institutional Research, Temple University
  • Panel 2: Learning from Peers in Other States and National Experts
    • Moderator: Meredith Kolodner, Journalist and Author, The Hechinger Report
    • Panelists:
      • Justin Archer Burch, Director, Rural LISC (Local Initiatives Support Corporation)
      • Marie Cini, Provost, University of the People
      • Jacob Fraire, President and CEO, Texas Association of Community Colleges
      • Michael Itzkowitz, Senior Fellow for Higher Education, Third Way
      • Mamie Voight, President and CEO, Institute for Higher Education Policy (IHEP)
  • Panel 3: Voices of Pennsylvania Students
    • Moderator: Ikeia Miller, Senior Program Manager, Jobs for the Future
    • Panelists:
      • Jinay Frazier, Student, Philadelphia Technician Training Institute
      • Claire Richardson, Returning Student

Discussion Item: Advisory Committee & Council Members

  • Strategic Priority: Innovate and Redesign Postsecondary Institutions for Today’s Learners

Public Comment